top of page
Search
  • Madison Rose

Uncategorize yo'self.


How would I describe the group of people my art would appeal to? Hopefully those with a good sense of humor...

I've never been a big fan of categories. Mostly because I'm all over the board. I've been the disgustingly girly girl, I've been the punk little shit, I've been the philosophical tree hugger. I'll find myself when I die. But I think what I've found is that choosing one thing in particular to stick to is fuckin hard. Why should anyone settle?

Just as I change, so does my art. This summer I've finally been able to focus on what I want to create, a series that I haven't been assigned by an outside party. It didn't start off easy.

All the inspiration and motivation I had at the end of the semester must have drained out of me, because the art I started off making this summer was SHIT and a half. I was so disgusted with it I could barely focus on making it better. Ask anyone I met up with in June, I was depressive.

But after a week long road trip with a couple of my best friends I came back rejuvenated. I realized that the reason my art wasn't satisfying was because I had mapped it out so precisely with my professor at the end of the semester. (It's part of an independent study I'm working on for her this summer into the next semester.) Sometimes we as artists just have to say fuck it, I'm going with my own groove right now.

And it worked. Reallyyyyy well. I started drawing for me, and the support I've gotten from friends on my recent work is astonishing. I feel proud, and motivated to keep working in my own unique style. I decided to make a series of humorous and sarcastic illustrations based on cliche sayings. I've done "Fear of Commitment", "Time On My Hands", and "When Life Gives You Lemons" just to name a few.

My next post will be a little bit more about my creative process. Until then, just remember to let your thoughts flow. Don't get hung up on the mold you feel you have to fit into. Change is inevitable, welcome it. Flow with the changes, we get all clogged up inside when we try to block them out.

Love you buds <3

xoxo Rose


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Surrendering, in a good way

Wait...wave the white flag?? You think I'm crazy now, don't you? Why the hell would you want to surrender anything in your art? You've worked so hard to prove everyone who said you couldn't be success

Productivity, you know, that thing

"Since I have SO much free time right now, I can get started on all those projects and hobbies I never had time for before!! Woopie!" Does this sound like beginning of the shut-in you? Does it sound l

bottom of page