top of page
Search
  • Madison Rose

Productivity, you know, that thing

"Since I have SO much free time right now, I can get started on all those projects and hobbies I never had time for before!! Woopie!"


Does this sound like beginning of the shut-in you?

Does it sound like you now? Or do you look like leftover-popcorn-in-your-cleavage couch melt? (I speak from past experience, yes).


How come having so much free time makes us so unproductive? I know the key to solving this issue for me, at least, is to have a deadline. If no one is there to give you a deadline, try making one for yourself! Hold yourself accountable to this deadline driven goal by telling everyone you know about it.

For example: "I'm gonna have an Etsy page started by this Friday, where I'll be selling my hand-painted ceramics!" Doesn't the fear of disappointing everyone make you sweat? YES! Perfect, now you will definitely have that Etsy page up and running by Friday. And now that you have your work out there, you will be motivated to keep making more! Because how lame is an Etsy page with 2 things for sale?


...Okay, so maybe this technique won't work for everybody. For some, it might make you crawl into a deep hole plagued with the fear of never being able to get anything done- I can't possibly set goals out loud for myself, because then if I don't follow through everyone will laugh and point their fingers at me and reiterate what a loser I alwaysknewIwasOH GOD!


OR, if that is your train of thought when it comes to these kinds of things, maybe this is exactly what you should be doing. Because even though those thoughts feel so suffocatingly real, your world will absolutely not crumble around you if you don't get something on your to-do list done. You will never get anything done if you never hold yourself accountable, and that is a fact. And you'd probably be surprised at how many people out there actually want to support you and see you succeed! Most people don't get divine satisfaction out of watching other's agony. If you do, ew.


Anyways, my point in this whole thing is that you are your biggest obstacle. I can promise you that you will be a lot happier when you stop giving out all the excuses as to why you can't succeed at something. So if you're an artist too, then use this free time to make something you're really proud of! And if you're just feeling stuck in the Netflix cycle at home now, write down those things you've always wished you had the time for, pick one thing to begin with, and just begin! When you let things overwhelm you, you're only serving to underwhelm yourself in the long haul.


Make momma proud Buds,

xoxo Rose



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page